“Project Undercover helped me keep my baby clean and healthy during the hardest weeks of my life.”

– A.R., Providence

“This program has truly been a lifesaver for my family.”

– T.C., Pawtucket

The Reasons We Help

families struggle to buy diapers

diapers per baby per day

for disposable diapers per baby per month.

children under age 3 in low-income families

MISSION STATEMENT

Project Undercover aims to meet the emergency needs of 20,000 kids by supplying 1,000,000 diapers and 180,000 pairs of underwear and socks every year.

VALUES STATEMENT

• Every child has the right to a clean, dry bottom.

• Our community is obligated to provide the bare necessities to all kids in need.

• All people should be treated with respect, dignity, compassion and integrity.

Hidden
History
In 1992, our founder and president Richard Fleischer was alarmed by the cost of the diapers he needed to buy for his newly adopted daughter. He wondered how less-fortunate families could manage such an expense, and was convinced that the need was too great to ignore. So he and longtime friend Frank DePetrillo decided to do something about it.

Through a unique partnership with the Girl Scouts of RI, Project Undercover began as a small group of volunteers organizing an annual diaper drive. For almost 15 years they successfully collected and distributed thousands of diapers every April. But with approximately 45,000 Rhode Island kids living in poverty (20,000 under the age of seven), the Project needed to expand.

In 2010, Project Undercover was formalized as a 501(c)3 nonprofit. We have an active volunteer board, and we work with 25 partner agencies around the state to distribute diapers, socks, wipes, and underwear to RI families in need. We use data from the RI Department of Human Services to help us make the greatest possible impact.

Executive Committee & Board of Directors

Richard Fleischer
President
richard@projectundercover.org
401.529.0947

Stephanie Oster Wilmarth
1st Vice President
stephanie@projectundercover.org

Sadie DeCourcy
2nd Vice President
sadie@projectundercover.org

Jessie Kanter
Treasurer
jessie@projectundercover.org

Debra DiScuillo
Secretary
debra@projectundercover.org

Lisa Mardenli Cohen
lisa@projectundercover.org

Donna Longo-Kumes
DlKumes@hekblaw.com